The ten things I hate…. about quilting

In honor of April Fool’s Day, I have decided to share the items about my favorite hobby that  I do not like.  I know that in anything I do there will likely be something that maybe not hate exactly but do not like!   I know that to some people this list will not agree with their preferences but hey we are all individuals…. Also just because I do not like these things does not indicate I should find a new hobby.  I HATE  that my husband snores and takes over the bed but that does not mean I want to replace him!!!!  Because the good definitely outweighs the bad, so my list:

The Ten Things I Hate About Quilting

1.  Cutting Strips:  I used to not like cutting in general.  I was not very good at it at all.  With time and  a lot of practice, I can enjoy most of the cutting.  Except strips.  For some reason I still do not like cutting these first cuts.  I think it is because I hate when they get that wonky curve thing going on!!! So if someone wants to cut these for me… please!!!

2.  Borders:  I think what I love best about many of the new patterns you see is there are no borders.  Borders are Russia in Winter for an invading Army… my Waterloo, whatever historical battle where the one side gets its ass kicked in a painfully depressing way.  I find that this is where in a quilt I frequently stop.  I have more quilts done to this point in my PhD collection, than the rest combined.  I do not know why I hate this… no that is a lie.  I had issues at first with sewing a consistent 1/4 inch seam.  A large amount of issues.  I have greatly improved on this for the majority of my piecing.  I still have problems with my borders.  Perhaps it is because the seams are so long, and the fabric weighs itself down and I feel like I get nowhere…ever.  This is the place where my 30 minutes a day fails me because I sew for 30 minutes and see almost no progress in that time.  I go from finishing blocks to barely finishing a single seam.  So borders are not cool.

3. Unsewing:  I have to unsew.  I mean who really can go without making a single mistake in a project?  If you know anyone who can (or if you can) go away.  I  know that some point in a quilt  I will have to take out at least part of a seam, a whole seam, or in quilt every seam I ever put in it.  (IT was the quilt from hell)  I am very opposed to this.   In fact I frequently get very upset and refuse to unsew.  Especially after I “think” the quilt is done.  At that point an upside down block can stay upside down.  If the damn points go the wrong way… bite me.

4.  Bobbins that run  out and I do not catch it till: five chain pieces later/ end of a border seam:  This is frustration.  The reason I want the expensive machine with the “low fuel”  alarm.  (See “My Request”) It totally breaks up the rhythm I have going.  I still cannot understand how I do not see it till I have been sewing with no bobbin thread for a considerable amount of time.

5.  Fabric that runs:  I do not prewash fabric.  (That is a whole soliliquily to itself.)  I hate when fabric runs in a quilt.  I have one quilt that no matter how many times I wash this one quilt it runs.  This is not cheap fabric people!!! I now have the perfect solution Shout Color Catcher Sheets.  Greatest invention, not made directly for quilters ever.

6. Pinning:   NO NOT PINTERST.  In fact I think Pinterst will be a crucial factor in encouraging a younger crowd to join me in the wonderful world of quilting and other home crafts.  I have found many of my circle are actually inspired to be crafty.  I mean those pointy ended/ glass beaded things that live in a pincushion.  I am one of those bad, bad people who avoid putting a pin in a project at any cost.  I do not pin seams to make sure they match because do you think I will unsew?  I rarely pin at all.  Unless I have no choice.  Then I do it.  But I hate how they mess up my rhythm.

7. Curves:  I cannot sew a curve.  I believe that has to do with the one crucial detail in curves:  you must pin.  You must pin a lot.  So since I do not like to pin therefore I do not like to create a project that has a large amount  of pinning associated with it.    I may though eventually wimp on this because I have seen a wedding ring quilt and a pickle dish quilt that I absolutely adore.

8. Changing/Breaking Needles:  Well these go together.  I do not change my needles with the appropriate frequency.  I tried to make it a task of the first day of the month and it still does not happen.  So I am bad and often do not do it to the needle breaks.    Sorry, I am bad.  I also have another issue here, frequently when I do change a needle I do not get it set in the correct position.  It isn’t inserted far enough, or not tight enough  (and wow this sounds just wrong) and as soon as I go to sew the needle pops and breaks.  Leading to a repeat of the process.  Frustration.

9. Stores that cut not tear material fabric from the bolt:  I know I square up material.  Yet the most frustrating thing is to see how much fabric I lose on the first cut.  It can be as much as two inches.  Since I am fanatically careful with my fabric usage (it is getting so very expensive) I hate to lose what I have.  Since I am already nervous about those first cuts, the fabric not looking straight at first is very, very weird.  I like it torn please.

10 PERFECTIONISM:  This is my biggest pet peeve.   I sew for fun and to relax.  It is like a Calgon bath (do they even have that anymore?)  I have to deal enough with exacts in my schoolwork, my family, my finances (though quilting does cause that havoc) and in many other areas.  I wan at least one place I can take it all as it comes.  I do not go crazy over perfect points, seams or even if my 1/4 is perfect (I lean toward a scant but in a few blocks I have created generous is definitely a kind term).  I will take out a seam if is noticeably bothering me, backwards, going the wrong way, the fabric is upside down (unless it is a batik) or just completely wrong.  But I have seen people take out entire rows over one intersection that was off by an 1/8th of an inch, not just once but multiple times!!!!  Worse, when you run into one of these people as an instructor and they expect you to do that too.  Not for me.  I use my quilts and my family, though they love the quilt gifts, would not notice a mistake on a quilt if it bit them in the leg.  They just love the fact that I made it just for them.    I do try to improve my skills but at the same time I am not going to pull out my hair (which is currently, due to pregnancy, lovely and full), kill my nails (also strong and healthy due to pregnancy) just to be perfect.

 

 So there we go.  What I do not like about quilting.  Are there things you do not like?  I promise that soon, as in within the next week I will give you my list of what I really, love about quilting.  So my list of what I do not like is complete, well wait I have one more issue.  Never being able to find my camera when I need it…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. candy
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 15:52:00

    I agree with the unsewing and perfectionism. They go hand in hand. My rule…I unsew once. Then I try real hard to just let it go!! Sometimes it’s hard but I manage to do it. I find that after a few days my mistakes aren’t so glaring any more. I just learn to live with them. 🙂

    Reply

  2. muddledmom
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 01:12:06

    I agree with almost all of those points! What I really hate is cutting. Once I’ve cut, I feel like I can dig in. I also hate when my machine messes up. I’m still a novice and I don’t know how to deal with surprises!

    Reply

    • argonzalez312
      Apr 19, 2012 @ 02:05:26

      I “phone a friend” when the machine acts up. I literally cannot figure out what I do wrong. And there is so much you can do wrong! I know that the first thing you should do when it acts up is unthread the machine completely. I also know now, that when the mistake is on top it usually has to do with the bobbin and when it is on the bottom it has to do with the needle thread. I think its easier to not ask why…

      Reply

Leave a comment